Historical Periods of Roman Law

By: Anavitarte, E. J.*

The historical periods of Roman law, are the natural division of each of the facets that Roman law had in its development, essential to understand the scope and dimensions of most of the legal institutions that developed throughout its history (753 BC-476 AD).

This, because the historical extension of what we know as ancient Rome, covers thirteen centuries of its own history (753 BC-476 AD), a century of previous Etruscan influence (9th century BC), and at least another two centuries of Roman-Byzantine development (6th-7th centuries AD), through which legal institutions varied, evolved and consolidated.

Therefore, for the study of Roman law, its extension should be divided into five (5) periods of legal development, according to its sources of law and procedural models, allowing each institution to be addressed more easily.

It is a long established fact that a reader will be distracted by the readable content of a page when looking at its layout. The point of using Lorem Ipsum is that it has a more-or-less normal distribution of letters, as opposed to using 'Content here, content here', making it look like readable English.

You must log in to access this content
Iniciar con Google
Iniciar con Facebook